

SENT VIA ELECTRONIC MAIL

November 2, 2023

Sen. Victor M. Torres Jr., 25th District – Delegation Chair

Rep. Carolina Amesty, 45th District – Delegation Vice Chair

Rep. Kristen Arrington, 46th District

Rep. Paula Stark, 47th District

2022-2024 OSCEOLA COUNTY LEGISLATIVE DELEGATION

Osceola County Administration Building 1 Courthouse Square, 4th Floor Commission Chambers Kissimmee, FL. 34741

Re: Osceola County Legislative Priorities for the 2024 Florida Legislative Session

Citizens Defending Freedom ("CDF") is a non-profit, non-partisan grassroots organization with county chapters in Florida. CDF is committed to resolving breaches of freedom and liberty through local awareness, local light, and local action. We accomplish this, in part, by practicing local government oversight and accountability, educating county citizens on local issues, and empowering and equipping them to rally to action in defense and preservation of their liberty. This work has positioned us as an integral community group in Osceola County and has endowed us with the fiduciary responsibility of advocating for and on behalf of our county's citizens in relation to the policymaking and legislative initiatives that impact them and their liberty.

We are hereby addressing the Osceola County Legislative delegation with the intent to communicate the priorities and will of a substantive part of your constituents in Osceola County. After thorough deliberation, vetting, and feedback initiatives, we have triaged the various legislative interests of said constituent base to the following primary legislative priorities. On behalf of the many Osceola County constituents, we are advocating for; we respectfully request that the Osceola County Legislative Delegation introduce and/or collectively and individually support legislation that aligns with the following legislative priorities:



EDUCATION:

- 1) All successfully removed challenged books in any district, must also be removed from all public schools statewide.
- 2) Strengthen the Harmful to Minors bill, Obscenity Chapter 847, remove the three-prong Miller test and make it applicable to all materials in schools including curriculum, supplemental materials, and self-selected materials both in the media centers and the classroom libraries.
- 3) Expand the curriculum adoption process to include access to the teacher edition for each reviewed textbook.
- 4) Define Social Emotional Learning (SEL) and ban from all public schools.
- 5) Expand the ability to appeal in HB1069 to the FLDOE from only parents to all residents in a county.
- 6) Give voters the lawful ability to recall school board members.

ELECTION INTEGRITY:

- 1) Limit VBM to voters physically unable to vote in their county during the full election period, attested by sworn & notarized VBM application. (101.62)
- 2) Reinstate the 30-day response requirement for address confirmation and bi-annual mailings. (98. 065 2(b))
- 3) Remove Sunshine exemption from voter registration agencies' details and records. (97.0585)
- 4) State-wide standards for signature verification must be developed and specified in statutes. A wet signature must be on file for every VBM voter. (101.6103)
- 5) Mandate transparency & chain of custody rules for VBM (vote by mail) ballots. Empower SOE's offices to have full access and oversight to USPS Special Elections Division facilities, staff and activities. (Election Code)
- 6) Mandate full transparency of the election process from voter registration to election result reporting, including chain of custody for ballots. (Election Code)



We appreciate and expect your consideration and support of these legislative priorities on which a significant base of your constituents aligns. CDF will be closely monitoring and analyzing this 2024 legislative session with a specific focus on these priorities and will report our findings back to the citizens of Osceola County.

Cordially,

Chris Fontenot

County Executive Director

Osceola County Citizens Defending Freedom

CC:

Debra Booth – Staff for Sen. Victor Torres
Julian Cintron – Staff for Sen. Victor Torres
Cecilia Figueroa – Staff for Sen. Victor Torres
Alfred Yorston – Staff for Sen. Torres
Victoria Estrada – Staff for Rep. Carolina Amesty
Mendy Silva – Staff for Rep. Carolina Amesty
Zoe Karabenick – Staff for Rep. Kristen Arrington
Kristopher Walton – Staff for Rep. Kristen Arrington
Joshua Widhalm – Staff for Rep. Paula Stark
Peter Vivaldi – Staff for Rep. Paula Stark